YA Novel

Secrets Of The Tally – What is this Amazing Authors Secret?

A story filled with Dragons, Magic, Warriors – Escali Vs Humans… This book has EVERYTHING a fantasy lover LOVES in a book!

img_5984.png
Picture of the back cover from my Insta – how gorgeous!

This story follows the life of Allie – who mysteriously wakes up in danger and follows to live the life of someone who is always in danger and is always fighting for herself, her family and friends. But what is unique about Allie – not only is she the most skilled fighter about… But she also has no idea who she is other than the fact her name is Allie.

A Fantasy World like no other I’ve ever read

AND TRUST ME! I’VE READ A LOT! I loved how original this book is! The whole concept of the two races in the book going head to head ‘supernatural’ vs ‘normal’ (Or in other words, Escali vs. Humans) is something you commonly see in Fantasy books but with Halie’s amazing writing it didn’t feel like a cliché. It follows no trend, It’s purely its own breed and that’s something which I sometimes find hard to come across in the YA Fantasy Genre! 

IMG_6027
Beautiful Bookmark of Allie I got from the author! (Snap from my Insta)

ALLIE

Reading Allie’s story is unique to other books I have read because not only are we as readers trying to finding out who she is, she herself is also trying. I feel like this makes us as readers appreciate the story more as we ourselves feel like we are by Allie’s side seeing her grow and find herself.

Allie is a mysterious character. That is what draws us into the book in the first place, but what makes us stay is the fact she is flawed and real. Maybe the fact Halie writes in first person but I seemed to develop the same feelings as Allie & experienced them. When she was embarrassed I found myself embarrassed, when she was excited I found myself rooting her on. Halie makes a fantastic connection with her wonderful writing but more so with her characters. Allie was not the only one I found myself attached too.

img_6028-e1498812151572.png
I adore how the start of every chapter a dagger was merged with the first letter! Little clever creative details!

The Writing

I adore how Halie wrote this book, the way it was structured was so satisfying because it wasn’t massive chunks of text. It read with such flow and there was never a gap in the story however it didn’t feel as though Halie was dragging out the story!

OVERALL

5/5 stars

Halie’s love for this story and her characters is obvious when you read this book, she started writing this story when she was 12 and reading the book you honestly can feel that she writes with all her heart and passion.

This book will be special to me for probably all my life because Halie made her dream into a reality… If you are like me and want to be a fantasy ya author one day… read this book. There haven’t been many books which have really made me believe maybe I could one day get a book published but this book has inspired me to never give up.

So I thank Halie for giving me this book for an honest review, because reading it has made an impact into my own writing journey. I can not wait for the second book and you reading this review should so check it out!

Author Detail and How to Buy

 

Thank you for reading, let me know if you have read or are going to read this book!

Love, Jessica

x

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

